MSU's Director of Admissions Offers Advice

By Kim Lifton

Michigan State University’s Director of Admissions James Cotter has a message for high school students worried about where they will get into college:

“Don’t worry so much about getting in; worry about getting out.”

As a 30-year veteran of the admissions office, Cotter has accumulated quite a bit of first-hand knowledge about what it takes to get into college, as well as what it takes to succeed once you get there.

Cotter, known for his dynamic presentations, will share his insight and provide tips for 45 minutes next Thursday, March 6 at 9 p.m. ET (8 p.m. CT, 7 p.m. MT, 6 p.m. PT), as part of Wow’s monthly webinar series:
Get Ready! Get Set! Get In! Inside the Admissions Office. (Our next webinar, slated for April 3 at 9 p.m. ET, will focus on test prep and will feature the co-founder of Testive, an innovative company that combines online and one-on-one prep.)

“Everyone can be admitted somewhere,” Cotter said. “Where can you be admitted that you can succeed?”

Cotter will also discuss how admissions officers choose prospective students, the importance of the college application essay, the factors that drive admissions and whether or not there is one perfect school for each applicant.

He’ll take questions from participants at the end of the session. To join the live webinar, register here. If you cannot attend, but would like a recording, register for the live webinar, and Wow Writing Workshop will email you a link after the session.

Kim Lifton is President of Wow Writing Workshop, one of the top college application essay experts in the US, offering unparalleled resources devoted to teaching students how to master high school writing and writing for college admissions.